She’s Ten…

You know sometimes – sometimes I don’t feel like I deserve such an awesome daughter as the daughter I have in Ainsley. 

Every year I gush about the smiles and heart as big as the earth itself, her humble way of living even at such a young age.  Being the middle she does sometimes get lost in ways…

This past year has given her and I chances to be together one on one – soccer tournaments and (believe it or not…) some brief shopping times.  I see who she is becoming and quite honestly it sometimes makes me weepy.  Because she is NOT like me.  She’s so much better.  Kinder.  Softer.  Patient.  Loving.  Calm.  Funny and intelligent and so very beautiful.  Strong.  Confident.  Always gracious.

The hope I have as we celebrate her tenth birthday is for me to be more like her.  To learn from her, to just dial my own self down enough to be more like this daughter, this girl – that I love so very much.

Happy Birthday to my girl…

Love Mama  XOXO

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LauraC
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 15:36:36

    Happy belated birthday. I starred this to come back and comment because I love it so much. This is a lot of the feelings I have about Alex, and excited to see how he grows over the years. Love this letter!

Leave a Reply

