Dr. Oz…

I don’t routinely watch Dr. Oz.  I know who he is, and his personality/style is not really my cup of tea – but a few friends were doing this detox starting on Jan 1 for 3 days so I hopped on the bandwagon to see if I could do it.
It was a moderate success.
This is the program.  Basically pureed food for 3 days with some vitamin support and detox bathing at the end of the day.  Let’s just say the bath part by FAR was the best ingredient in this 3 day exercise.
Breakfast was not too bad actually.  Fruit, spinach, water (I actually used the coco water because that stuff is awesome!) and almond butter.  These were no problem to drink.

THIS WAS AWFUL.  I MEAN AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL.  Jenna got smart and just laid out all the ingredients called for in the lunch drink and ate them on the 2nd day.  I tried it in juiced version twice before giving in and going with just eat it all individually.  This is perhaps the most disgusting drink I have ever had to chug.
Dinner (no pics, woops) was pretty good again minus the cayenne.  I didn’t follow the program to the tee which is probably why I came unglued on Day 2 at supper time and had to eat some real food… there really is no way to make the drink at work, so I wasn’t doing the snack drinks that they called for.  Massive calorie deficiency already with just the ingredients he uses – so skipping drinks is less than ideal.  
I lost just over 3 lbs (pure water, which I guess is what it’s designed to do a bit).  Being vegetarian going into this probably meant there was a bit less cleansing to do.  But – I have held steady in the week and a half since it ended so that’s good.  Nice little holiday recovery.  šŸ™‚
I think there are probably more enjoyable and cheaper options out there (this was definitely not on the cheap side ingredients wise) and I will likely spend some time researching.  Here and there – this really made me feel good, like nipped in and way less bloat.  My pants were hanging off by the 3rd morning just from purging salt out I think!  
The downside?  I was pretty lethargic.  No energy to run.  This past week I just ate pretty normal but ran 4 days and feel way better.  So – cleansing once in a while might have some benefit – but not long term.  Not for this mama anyway!

Leave a comment